Meet the Volunteer -Round 3 – Pupsy

If you’ve ever stepped in store here at Oxfam Mill rd, you will probably have noticed the brilliant artistry, shop displays and vinyl collection on show. Today we’re chatting to Pupsy, the man responsible for all this, and who’s been volunteering with us for 5 years.

Image

What’s your role here at Oxfam Mill Rd, Pupsy?

I mainly deal with the music, pricing and collectable albums. I’ve been collecting music for about forty years. I know quite a lot about music as my mum used to dance in the theatre and that. I also worked at the BBC in the 80’s so that experience helps. On top of that I’m the shops volunteer artist.

Shop artist?

Yep, a lot of the graffiti and artwork around the shop is my own stuff. I’ve been a charity artist anyway, working for CLIC Sargent (For Children and Young People with Cancer) and others. It’s great fun.

All the work I produce is for sale in Oxfam and all profits go directly to it.

What made you decide to volunteer for Oxfam?

Well, originally my son was the manager and he realised Mill Rd had lots of collectable vinyl that wasn’t being priced correctly. So I got involved helping out with that for about two and a half years. I met Mungo, now the manager,  at a previous job. When my son left, Mungo took over here and because I really enjoy the work here, I stayed on contributing a couple of hours each month. I love doing it. I love the atmosphere here and it’s brilliant to be able to contribute my artwork for a great cause.

Also, when I’m not here, I work as a carer working for two elderly gentlemen. It’s quite a full on job so this time in the shop is a fantastic break for me – meeting with others and having a laugh really.

What do you enjoy most about volunteering here?

I like the atmosphere in this shop – it’s like a family. I think that that’s something special about this Oxfam. We have people from all over, from different backgrounds and we support each other, like a family really. The shop is also quite alternative which is what draws me here also.

If you had to describe yourself as a flavour of ice cream, what flavour would you be?

[Pause] Pistachio. ‘Cus I’m nuts!

What would you say to those who are thinking about volunteering here at Oxfam Mill Rd?

I’d say ‘go for it!’ It’s a good thing to do. It’s a great shop to work in if you’re young with an alternative outlook. There are many Oxfams you can volunteer for but if you want something a bit more quirky, with a strong independent feel then this is the best shop to do so.

Image

Thanks Pupsy! 


You can find out more about volunteering for Oxfam via the Oxfam website. Alternatively you can pop in store or email Mungo the manager at oxfamshopf2504(at)oxfam.org.uk.

Check in again soon when we’ll be catching up with more volunteers in store.

Tweet us with any questions @oxfammillroad

 

Leave a Reply

